Lorraine Lynch's Interview

05/05/2015 10:48

Interviewee: Mrs Lorraine Lynch

Position:   Mrs Lynch is a member of the Higher Education Advisory Team and teacher of English Literature at the Grammar School, Nicosia. Mrs Lynch comes from Liverpool, England and has been at the Grammar School since 1999.

 

Students:  Why did you leave your country to come here?

Lorraine Lynch:  I left my country to come to Cyprus because I met a Cypriot man called Spyros whom I married so I moved here to be with him.

 

Students:  Did you ever visit the parts of Cyprus that are held by Turkey?

Lorraine Lynch:  Yes I have. I have visited Kyrenia and I have also visited the Green Line area

 

Students:  Was it easy to settle here?

Lorraine Lynch:  No it wasn’t easy for me to settle here. Coming from a very large city was a huge cultural shock moving to somewhere much quieter

 

Students:  How did people in your country treat you and how do people in this country treat you? Is it any different?

Lorraine Lynch:  Yes, things are different here in the way that people approach things, cultural differences and differences in the way, you know, establishments are organized. There are a lot of differences.

 

Students:  Do you think that we are a country that has many places to visit?

Lorraine Lynch:  Yes, I think there is a huge variety of places to visit, both cultural and obviously lots of beautiful scenery, beaches, mountains, it’s a very nice place.

Students:  Thank you.

Lorraine Lynch