Katerina Sergiou's Interview

05/05/2015 10:51

 

Interviewee: Mrs Katerina Sergiou

Position:   Mrs Sergiou is a teacher of English at the Grammar School, Nicosia. Mrs Sergiou comes from London, England and has been at the Grammar School since 2008.

 

Students:  Why did you leave your country to come here?

Katerina Sergiou:  I left the UK because my parents had come over to Cyprus and because I was an only child I am close to my family I wanted to come back to join them as well. I didn’t want to stay in London on my own.

 

Students:  Did you ever visit the parts of Cyprus that are held by Turkey?

Katerina Sergiou:  I‘ve visited a couple of places last year, yeah.

 

Students:  Was it easy for you to settle here?

Katerina Sergiou:  No, it took me about two years to settle down into the way of life … it was difficult for me in the beginning, but eventually I got used to it

 

Students:  How did people in your country treat you and how did people in this country treat you? Is it any different?

Katerina Sergiou:  Ok. In the UK because there are so many foreigners, we were all treated the same. Over here, I felt at the beginning, even though I am Cypriot, but because I was born in London, people would look at me differently, you know as if I was slightly alienated so to speak, but now everything is fine.

 

Students:  Do you think that we are a country that has many places to visit?

Katerina Sergiou:  Yes. Definitely has lots of beautiful places to visit and I am discovering new places myself eventhough I‘ve been here 18 years

 

Students:  Thank you very much

Katerina Sergiou