Juliana Saavedra's Interview

05/05/2015 10:27

Interviewee: Mrs Juliana Saavedra

Position:   Mrs Saavedra is a teacher of Physics and Science at the Grammar School, Nicosia. Mrs Saavedra comes from Colombia and has been at the Grammar School since 2006.

 

Students:  Why did you leave your country to come here?

Juliana Saavedra:   Because I married a Cypriot man and he wanted to move to Cyprus to be near his family and his work

 

Students:  Did you ever visit the parts of Cyprus that are held by Turkey?

Juliana Saavedra:   Yes. I have been twice to the other part, the Northern part of Cyprus

 

Students:  Was it easy for you to settle here?

Juliana Saavedra:   The first year I struggled as I couldn’t find everything I would find in the United States, but it was very easy, people were very welcoming and I adapted quite easily after a year.

 

Students:  How did people in your country treat you and how do people in this country treat you? Is there any difference?

Juliana Saavedra:   I am originally from Colombia, so I think that the cultures are very similar and the religion is very similar, the weather is similar, so I think the people in general are very hospitable and their welcoming in their …very similar the treatment that I get here that I get in my country.

 

Students:  Do you think that we are a country that has many places to visit?

Juliana Saavedra:   You do have many places to visit. They are small but there is a great variety of things to do here, yes. Like the sea, the mountains, different villages, every village is very different in quaint and interesting

Students:        Thank you very much

Juliana Saavedra